What is Toyota Safety Sense™?

TSS 2.5

When you shop for a new Toyota model at Savannah Toyota, you’ll notice that each vehicle has Toyota Safety Sense™ listed in the description. What is Toyota Safety Sense™? This next-generation safety system assists Pooler drivers by keeping an eye out for potential hazards on the road. 

There are four main Toyota Safety Sense™ packages on each new and used Toyota vehicle. Savannah Toyota discusses the features offered on each system below, and what the differences are between them. Read along to learn more about the Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 (TSS-2.0) features and the newest Toyota Safety Sense 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+) package. 

Toyota Safety Sense™ Packages

Toyota Safety Sense™ first became available in 2015 with Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) and Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P). Since 2015, Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) debuted in 2018 and Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+) is out now for the 2021 model year. With four different packages available, some Savannah drivers may be wondering what the difference is between them. Read along with Savannah Toyota below to learn the basics of each package:

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+)

  • Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+) is the newest Toyota Safety Sense™ package. 
  • It’s currently only available on the 2021 Toyota Camry and the 2021 Toyota Highlander, but will be coming to other models in the near future. 
  • This new system builds on the Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) features and adds an advanced camera, millimeter-wave radar, and grille mounted radar to improve response range and enhance pedestrian detection. 
  • Intersection Support and Emergency steering assist are new features that come with Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+). 

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0)

  • Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) is an advanced suite of the safety systems from the Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) and Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) packages.
  • This package is available on Toyota models that are from 2018 or newer. 
  • Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) systems are designed to help address three key areas of accident protection: Preventing or mitigating frontal collisions, keeping drivers within their lane, and enhancing road safety during nighttime driving. 
  • A camera, a millimeter-wave radar, and a grille mounted radar monitor a vehicle’s projected path.
  • Features like Pre-Collision System, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beams, Road Sign Assist, and Lane Tracing assist are available on Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0).

Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P)

  • Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) was released alongside Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) in 2015. 
  • It’s available on mid-size and large Toyota vehicles like the Toyota RAV4 and Toyota Sienna. 
  • It uses a camera and a millimeter-wave radar at the front of the model to search for other vehicles, smaller vehicles like motorcycles, bikes, and pedestrians. 
  • Pedestrian detection, Steering Assist, and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) are also common systems on Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P). 

Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C)

  • Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) was released alongside Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) in 2015.
  • It was built for compact Toyota vehicles like the Toyota Corolla. 
  • A camera and laser radar at the front of the vehicle monitors other vehicles on the road.
  • Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) features include Pre-Collision System (PCS) with Vehicle Detection, Lane Departure Alert (LDA), and Automatic High Beams (AHB).

Toyota Safety Sense™ Systems

Each Toyota Safety Sense™ package comes with a number of systems to help keep drivers and their passengers safe on Bluffton roads. These systems use a combination of cameras, lasers, and radars to monitor the road ahead of them for other vehicles, pedestrians, and other objects. If the systems detect a problem, they will alert the driver with audible and visual cues. If the driver does not take action in time – or is unable to take action – the system will step in and apply the brakes or move the vehicle to avoid a collision. You can read more about each system below:

  • Automatic High Beams: This system detects the headlights and taillights of other vehicles as you drive at night. Depending on the distance of the other vehicle, the system will automatically engage or disengage your high beams for optimal visibility.
  • Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection (also available with Bicycle Detection): This system detects other vehicles, motorcycles, bikes, and pedestrians in your vehicle’s path and alerts you to avoid a collision. 
  • Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (also available with Full-Speed Range Dynamic Radar Cruise Control): This system uses a radar located behind the Toyota badge on the front grille and a camera on the windshield to adjust your speed and maintain an appropriate distance between your vehicle and the one in front of you.
  • Lane Departure Alert (also available with Steering Assist and Road Edge Detection): The system helps you keep your vehicle in its lane by alerting you when the vehicle begins to drift over the lane markers. 
  • Lane Tracing Assist: This system works with the Full-Speed Range Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) and Hilton Head lane markers to keep your vehicle centered in its intended lane. 
  • Road Sign Assist: This system works with the forward-facing camera to detect “speed limit”, “stop”, “do not enter”, and “yield” signs on the road and displays them on the Multi-Information Display (MID).
  • Intersection Support: This system is new with Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+). It detects any vehicles or pedestrians that are in an intersection and alerts the driver to their presence when they try to complete a turn.
  • Emergency Steering Assist: This system is new with Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+). It stabilizes the steering wheel when a driver swerves to avoid another vehicle, pedestrian, or object in their lane. It also works to keep the driver in their intended lane while avoiding oncoming traffic and other pedestrians or objects.

Toyota Safety Sense™ On Toyota Vehicles

Every Toyota model comes with Toyota Safety Sense™ standard on each configuration. In 2021, the following Toyota vehicles have these Toyota Safety Sense™ systems:

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+)

  • Toyota Camry 
  • Toyota Camry Hybrid 
  • Toyota Highlander 
  • Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0)

  • Toyota Corolla
  • Toyota Corolla Hatchback
  • Toyota Corolla Hybrid 
  • Toyota Prius 
  • Toyota Prius Prime 
  • Toyota Mirai
  • Toyota Sienna
  • Toyota C-HR 
  • Toyota RAV4
  • Toyota RAV4 Hybrid 
  • Toyota RAV4 Prime 
  • Toyota Venza

Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P)

  • Toyota Avalon 
  • Toyota Avalon Hybrid
  • Toyota Land Cruiser 
  • Toyota Sequoia 
  • Toyota 4Runner
  • Toyota Tacoma
  • Toyota Tundra 

See Toyota Safety Sense™ In Person

Toyota Safety Sense™ will keep you and your passengers safe as you navigate Savannah roads on your daily errands or weekend adventures. Find the perfect Toyota model for your needs when you browse our online model showroom, then contact our finance team to learn more about your vehicle’s safety package and to find a financing plan that’s right for you. We look forward to putting you behind the wheel of a new Toyota sedan, truck, or SUV today!

Leave a Review
Contact Us
Savannah Toyota 31.9783805, -81.1421631.